Special Topics

The Financial Quotient of Buddhism

In modern society, economic activities account for a significant portion of daily life. Consequently, "FQ" has become a hot topic, and, along with Intelligence Quotient (IQ) and Emotional Quotient (EQ), constitute the three basic social capabilities of modern people. 

FQ stands for "Financial Quotient," and refers to the ability to survive in an economic society. It can be cultivated through education and learning as individuals develop their attitudes toward money, knowledge of making money and the ability to manage money, ultimately achieving financial independence and leading a life free of economic worries.

In fact, FQ education finds its place in Buddhism as well. More than two thousand years ago, even though the economic activities of ancient India were not complicated, the Buddha taught his disciples how to manage wealth wisely. As indicated in the Āgama Sutras, the Buddha prophetically proposed the principle "equal income, equal expense." He also told people how to acquire money through righteous means, and how to manage wealth properly, such as making profits, purchasing land, earning interest, etc.

Furthermore, the Buddha proposed the "seven kinds of noble wealth" that remain unaffected by external circumstances and endure beyond life and death: faith (śraddhā), ethical conduct (śīla), conscience (hrī), consideration (apatrāpya), learning (śruta), giving (tyāga), and wisdom (prajñā). These are the life-enriching virtuous provisions that we must cultivate, and also the unique feature of Buddhist FQ. 

Related articles:

Buddhist Perspectives on Wealth

The Financial Quotient of Buddhism

How Can Gold Turn Out to Be a Poisonous Snake?

The Guardian Deities of Wealth Revered in Buddhism

Commonly Asked Questions about the Buddhist Perspective on Wealth

Resource: Issue 394 of Humanity  Magazine, Dharma Drum Publishing Corporation
Translation: Sinag-ling Li (李祥苓)
Editing: Keith Brown, James